Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Jan. 29, 2004


Fulton Russ Johnson, Chairman of the Oswego County Legislature, has declared a State of Emergency in Oswego County beginning at 11:30 a.m. and due to the extreme snowstorm occurring within the county.

The State of Emergency has been declared in accordance with New York State Executive Law Article 2-B.

Legislature Chairman Johnson is urging people in Oswego County to use extreme caution and to pay close attention to advisories issued by the chief elected officials of their own municipalities (the two cities and towns).

"We're working together with the various parts of the county and making sure we keep up-to-date with current conditions," Legislature Chairman Johnson said. He is in close contact with Director of Emergency Management Patricia Egan, who is keeping the chairman's office appraised.

According to New York State Executive Law Article 2-B, a Chief Elected Official of a municipality may declare a State of Emergency to protect public safety and property.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?