Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Feb. 4, 2004

County Legislature Sponsors Meetings on Redistricting

The Oswego County Legislature has scheduled four public meetings to get feedback from county residents on changing the size of the Legislature. The Legislature's General Government Committee is gathering information to see if residents want to change the structure of the Legislature from 25 districts.

The meetings will be held at 7 p.m. on:

  • Thursday, Feb. 12, in the Legislative Chambers of the County Office Building, 46 E. Bridge St., Oswego;
  • Thursday, Feb. 19, in the courtroom of the Fulton Municipal Building, 141 S. First St., Fulton;
  • Thursday, March 11, in the Hastings Municipal Building, U.S. Route 11, Hastings; and
  • Thursday, March 18, at the H. Douglas Barclay Courthouse, 1 Broad St., Pulaski.

"We want to listen to the public and see what their comments are," said Legislator David Waters, District 3, (Richland, Pulaski), chairman of the General Government Committee. "We want to know if people are in favor of changing from the present structure of 25 districts."

Oswego County voters approved a referendum in 1993 to change the size of the County Legislature from 36 to 25 members. The district boundaries were drawn so that each legislator represented about 4,872 residents. New district lines were redrawn in 2001 to reflect population changes from the 2000 federal census.

In addition to Legislator Waters, members of the General Government Committee include legislators Carl Anson, District 2 (Albion, Orwell, Richland, Williamstown); Fred Beardsley, District 9 (Hastings); Barry Leemann, District 4 (Amboy, Parish, Williamstown, Hastings); Greg Osetek, District 15 (Oswego); John Proud, District 7 (Mexico); and Phillip Vasho, District 22 (Fulton, Granby).

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?