Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Feb. 11, 2004

County Legislature Sponsors Meetings on Redistricting

FULTON - Area residents can voice their thoughts and ideas about the size of the County Legislature at a public meeting Thursday, Feb. 19, in the Fulton Municipal Building.

The County Legislature's General Government Committee is sponsoring meetings around the county to get input from residents about whether or not to change the size of the Legislature. The Legislature consists of 25 districts with about 4,900 residents in each district.

The meeting will be held at 7 p.m. Feb. 19 in the courtroom of the Fulton Municipal Building, 141 S. First St. Meetings have also been scheduled for Thursday, March 11, in the Hastings Municipal Building and Thursday, March 18, at the H. Douglas Barclay Courthouse, Pulaski.

In 1993 Oswego County voters approved a referendum to reduce the county legislature from 36 to 25 members. New district lines were redrawn in 2001 to reflect population changes from the 2000 federal census.

Members of the General Government Committee include David Waters, committee chairman, District 3, (Richland, Pulaski); Carl Anson, District 2 (Albion, Orwell, Richland, Williamstown); Fred Beardsley, District 9 (Hastings); Barry Leemann, District 4 (Amboy, Parish, Williamstown, Hastings); Greg Osetek, District 15 (Oswego); John Proud, District 7 (Mexico); and Phillip Vasho, District 22 (Fulton, Granby).

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?