Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Feb. 25, 2004

County Legislature Sponsors Meetings on Redistricting

HASTINGS - Area residents can voice their thoughts and ideas about the size of the County Legislature at a public meeting Thursday, March 11, in the Hastings Municipal Building.

The County Legislature's General Government Committee is sponsoring meetings around the county to get input from residents about whether or not to change the size of the Legislature. The Legislature consists of 25 districts with about 4,900 residents in each district.

"We are encouraging citizens to ask questions and give comments about the size and structure of the County Legislature," said County Legislator David Waters, committee chairman, District 3, (Richland, Pulaski).

The meeting will be held at 7 p.m. in the Hastings Municipal Building at 1134 County Route 11, Central Square. The municipal building is just off U.S. Route 11. Drivers should look for the sign for the New York State Police Station, which is in the same building.

A meeting is also scheduled for Thursday, March 18, at the H. Douglas Barclay Courthouse in Pulaski. Meetings were held in Oswego and Fulton in February.

In addition to Legislator Waters, members of the General Government Committee include Carl Anson, District 2 (Albion, Orwell, Richland, Williamstown); Fred Beardsley, District 9 (Hastings); Barry Leemann, District 4 (Amboy, Parish, Williamstown, Hastings); Greg Osetek, District 15 (Oswego); John Proud, District 7 (Mexico); and Phillip Vasho, District 22 (Fulton, Granby).

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?