Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

March 10, 2004

General Government Committee Sponsors Meeting on Redistricting

PULASKI - Area residents can voice their opinions about the size of the Oswego County Legislature at a public meeting at 7 p.m. Thursday, March 18, at the H. Douglas Barclay Courthouse on Broad Street.

The County Legislature's General Government Committee is sponsoring meetings around the county to get input from residents about whether or not to change the size of the Legislature. There are 25 legislative districts. Each district has about 4,900 residents.

In 1993 Oswego County voters approved a referendum to reduce the size of the county legislature from 36 to 25 members. In 2001, new district lines were drawn to reflect population changes from the 2000 federal census.

Members of the General Government Committee include legislators David Waters, committee chairman, District 3, (Richland, Pulaski); Carl Anson, District 2 (Albion, Orwell, Richland, Williamstown); Fred Beardsley, District 9 (Hastings); Barry Leemann, District 4 (Amboy, Parish, Williamstown, Hastings); Greg Osetek, District 15 (Oswego); John Proud, District 7 (Mexico); and Phillip Vasho, District 22 (Fulton, Granby).

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?