Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

April 7, 2004

County Housing Program Provides Fair Housing Opportunities Year-Round

April is Fair Housing Month across the United States. In Oswego County, the Oswego County Housing Assistance Program is working year-round to help families afford safe and sanitary rental housing. The Housing Assistance Program and the Fair Housing Council assist eligible residents regardless of their race, color, religion, national origin, disability, sex or family status.

The Housing Assistance Program is a division of the County Department of Planning and Community Development and is located at the Oswego County Courthouse on East Oneida Street, Oswego.

The Oswego County Fair Housing Council was established in April of 1991 and is made up of community leaders representing local government, businesses, and human service organizations.

"The goal of the Fair Housing Council is to educate, promote and foster equal opportunity within our local housing market," according to Brian Frazier, director of planning and community development.

"Although Oswego County does not have a large number of minority residents, there are elderly, disabled and single parent households who may have been discriminated against in the past," said DonaLee Falciatano, Fair Housing Program Coordinator for the County Department of Planning and Community Development. "Members of the Fair Housing Council have the opportunity to address specific housing problems and develop creative strategies to improve housing in Oswego County."

Fair Housing Council members are Deborah Bishop, Oswego County Opportunities; Michele Cusyck, village of Pulaski; Patricia Fox, Section 8 Housing; Roxanna Gillen, Oswego Housing Development Council, Inc.; John Heretyk, Oswego County Mental Health; Elizabeth Hirsch, New Justice Conflict Resolution Services, Inc.; Rhonda Hutchins, PathFinder Bank; Sabine Ingerson, ARISE, Inc.; Kenneth Parrotte, Fulton Savings Bank; Mary Vanouse, City of Oswego; Paul Vickery, Paul Vickery Insurance; Christine Weaver, Oswego County Department of Social Services, and County Legislator Paul Santore, District 16, Oswego.

For more information, call the Oswego County HUD office at 349-8263 or 1-800-596-3200, ext. 8263.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?