Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Aug. 11, 2006


Group Photo of Oswego River De-Listing Ceremony

Volunteers, biologists, and government officials gathered in Oswego recently to commemorate the removal of the Oswego River from the International Great Lakes “areas of concern” list. The occasion represents nearly two decades of work by a partnership of citizens, the Oswego River Remedial Advisory Committee, city, county, state and federal government agencies, and business leaders. On hand for the ceremony were Acting Oswego Mayor Randolph Bateman, Karen Noyes, county Department of Community Development, Tourism and Planning, chairwoman, Oswego River Remedial Advisory Committee; Alan Steinberg, regional administrator, Environmental Protection Agency, former mayors William Cahill Jr., John Sullivan, John Fitzgibbons, and Terrance Hammill; RAC member Don Ross; state Senator James Wright; Alderwoman Barbara Donahue; Kenneth Lynch, DEC regional director; state Assemblyman William Barclay; Robert Townsend, DEC coordinator; Dennis Schornack, chair, U.S. Section, International Joint Commission; RAC member Joe Allerton; Gary Gulezian, director, EPA Great Lakes National Program Office; County Legislator Paul Santore; Steve Eidt, DEC regional water engineer; Fulton Mayor Daryl Hayden; RAC member John DeHollander; regional fisheries manager Dan Bishop; and John Elmer, Brookfield Power Co.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?