Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Aug. 31, 2006

Board of Elections staff member Peggy Bickford demonstrates electronic voting machine
Board of Elections staff member Peggy Bickford demonstrates electronic voting machine.

Disabled Voters Will Use New Machines on Primary Day

Registered voters who have disabilities will be able to use a new electronic ballot-marking device in the Sept. 12 Primary and the Nov. 7 General elections in Oswego County.

Four new voting machines, designed for use by disabled voters, will be located in each of the four state Assembly districts that comprise Oswego County. County Election Commissioners Donald Wart and William Scriber said the machines will comply with the U.S. Department of Justice directive that all counties in New York State provide electronic ballot-marking devices for disabled voters in the fall 2006 elections.

The voting machines are equipped with a ballot marking device, headset, a “sip and puff” system, and numerical keypad to be used by voters with visual, hearing or physical impairments. Users will receive a sequence of instructions to navigate them through the system.

The four machines will be located at the:

  • County Office Building, 46 E. Bridge St., Oswego
  • Oswego Town Hall, county Route 7, Oswego;
  • Hastings Municipal Building, U.S. Route 11, Hastings; and
  • Sandy Creek Town Hall, Harwood Drive, Sandy Creek.

The election commissioners said the machines will be programmed to include the election ballot for each voter’s election district. Votes will be recorded on cards that will be placed in an envelope and manually counted by the Board of Elections.

The election commissioners said that beginning next fall, new electronic voting machines will be available for all Oswego County voters, including the disabled community. The new electronic voting machines will also comply with the requirements of the federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA).

For information, contact the Oswego County Board of Elections at 349-8350 or 349-8351, or 1-800-596-3200, ext. 8350 or 8351.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?