Oswego County News Release
Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

January 9, 2008

Legislature Chairman Leemann Announces Standing Committee Assignments

OSWEGO - Oswego County Legislature Chairman Barry Leemann (District 4, Amboy) today announced appointments to the County Legislature's standing committees. The seven committees oversee departments of county government and make budget recommendations to the full Legislature.

“I have tried to accommodate as many Legislator committee requests as possible,” said Legislator Leemann. “Believe me; it is very difficult considering many legislators requested the same committee assignments. I have also attempted to maintain committee consistency and have assigned Legislators in their respective fields of expertise.”

All legislators have two committee assignments except for Legislature Vice Chairman John Proud, District 7, Mexico, who serves on three committees. Committee meetings, which are open to the public, are held in the County Office Building at 46 E. Bridge St., Oswego.

The standing committee assignments for 2008 are:

Community and Consumer Affairs: Jack Beckwith (District 21, Hannibal) chairman, Kevin Gardner (District 13, New Haven), vice chairman, Clayton Brewer (District 24, Fulton), Linda Lockwood (District 11, Volney), Louella LeClair (District 25, Fulton), and Phillip Vasho (District 22, Fulton). The committee oversees the Board of Elections, Central Services Department, County Clerk's Office, Real Property Tax Service, and Weights and Measures Office. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 23. Thereafter the committee will meet the fourth Wednesday of the month at 2 p.m.

Economic Development and Planning: Shawn Doyle (District 3, Pulaski), chairman, Morris Sorbello (District 23, Granby) vice chairman, Jack Beckwith, Arthur Gearsbeck (District 6, West Monroe), Louella LeClair, Douglas Malone (District 20, Oswego Town), Kimberly Seager (District 10, Phoenix). The committee oversees the Department of Community Development, Tourism and Planning. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 2 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 22. Regular meetings will be at 2 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month.

Finance and Personnel: Kim Seager, chairwoman, Michael Kunzwiler (District 18, Oswego) vice chairman, Fred Beardsley (District 9, Central Square), Daniel Chalifoux (District 19, Minetto), Kevin Gardner, Paul Santore (District 16, Oswego), John Proud. The committee oversees the County Audit Office, County Administrator's Office, County Treasurer's Office, Personnel and Purchasing departments. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 2 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 5. Regular meetings will be at 2 p.m. on the first Tuesday after the fourth Tuesday of each month.

Health and Human Services: John Proud, chairman, Barbara Brown (District 8, Palermo) vice chairwoman, Daniel Chalifoux, Margaret Kastler (District 1, Sandy Creek), Arthur Gearsbeck, Douglas Malone, Morris Sorbello. The committee oversees the county departments of Social Services, Health, Office for the Aging, Veterans' Services and Youth Bureau. The next meeting will be at 10 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 23. Regular meetings will be 10 a.m. on the fourth Wednesday of each month.

Infrastructure and Facilities: Fred Beardsley, chairman, Clayton Brewer, vice chairman, Barbara Brown, Shawn Doyle, Linda Lockwood, Milferd Potter (District 2, Orwell), and Phillip Vasho. The Infrastructure and Facilities Committee is responsible for policies and legislation regarding the County Airport, the Buildings and Grounds Department, Highway, Solid Waste, and Energy Recovery Facility. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 10 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 22. Regularly scheduled meetings will be at 10 a.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month.

Strategic Planning and Government: Arthur Ospelt (District 12, Schroeppel), chairman, Milferd Potter, vice chairman, James Bryant (District 5 (Constantia), Michael Kunzwiler, James Oldenburg (District 14, Scriba), John Proud, and Lee Walker Jr. (District 15, Oswego). The committee oversees the Clerk of the Legislature's Office, County Attorney's Office, County Legislature and Office of the Chairman, and the District Attorney's Office. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 10 a.m. Thursday, Jan. 24. Thereafter the committee will meet at10 a.m. on the fourth Monday of every month.

Public Safety and Emergency Services: Paul Santore, chairman, James Bryant, vice chairman, Margaret Kastler, James Oldenburg, Arthur Ospelt, Lee Walker Jr. The committee oversees the E-911 Program, Emergency Management Office, Fire Coordinator's Office, Probation Department and Sheriff's Office. The first meeting of 2008 will be at 2 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 24. Regularly scheduled meetings will be at 2 p.m. on the fourth Monday of the month.

The person appointed to fill the vacant District 17 seat of the late Legislator Leonard Ponzi, Oswego, will serve on the Community and Consumer Affairs Committee and the Public Safety and Emergency Services Committee.

For more information, contact the Office of the Chairman of the County Legislature at 349-8230 or 1-800-596-3200, ext. 8230.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?