Oswego County News Release
Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

April 17, 2008

Sheriff's Office Awarded Re-Accreditation

Pictured in the above photograph (right to left) presenting the Re-Accreditation Award are Deputy Commissioner John Bilich and Commissioner Denise E. O’Donnell, both from the NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services, and Chief H. Lloyd Perkins, Chairman of the NYS Law Enforcement Accreditation Council. Receiving the award on behalf of the Oswego County Sheriff’s Office are Sheriff Reuel A. Todd and Undersheriff Robert J. Lighthall.

On March 6, 2008, the Oswego County Sheriff’s Office was awarded re-accreditation at a ceremony held in Albany, New York. Oswego County is one of the longest running Sheriff Offices in the state having first been accredited in the year 1989 under the guidance of then Sheriff, Charles F. Nellis. The Sheriff’s Office has successfully passed the accreditation every five years since. The accreditation procedure is an extremely highly regarded award throughout the law enforcement agencies. The accreditation must be maintained for the entire time of the five-year renewal process. Deputy Scot Nappa is in charge of handling the policy folders and has done an exemplary job of maintaining the records and procedures.

There are many benefits awarded by the county’s participation, with one of the main benefits being lower insurance costs for the county. Sheriff Todd stated, “I am extremely proud of our office and its members and the hard work and dedication by our officers and staff. They work extremely hard to make the Oswego County Sheriff’s office one of the best and most professional in the state and the presentation of the re-accreditation certainly justifies the hard work. I commend and thank them for their contributions.”

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?