Oswego County News Release
Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

May 7, 2009

Emergency Medical Services Providers to Be Honored at Banquet

Oswego - The Oswego County Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council will honor emergency medical services providers for outstanding patient care during the second annual Awards Banquet Friday, May 15, at the American Foundry in Oswego.

The awards are based on the actions of EMS providers in the calendar year 2008. A total of 17 awards will be presented, seven of them to emergency medical services (EMS) agencies whose providers saved a patient’s life on a call.

“Each of these is based on a call for someone found in respiratory and/or cardiac arrest,” said Zach Menter of Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s), a member of the EMSAC Banquet Committee. “Because of the actions of the providers on the scene, the patient was later discharged from the hospital alive.”

Of the seven Life Saving Awards, Oswego City Fire Department Ambulance will receive one and Northern Oswego County Ambulance Service (NOCA) will receive three. Sandy Creek Fire Department, Lacona Fire Department, Altmar Fire Department and Donald McFee Memorial Ambulance Service will receive Honorable Mentions in NOCA’s awards. A.L. Lee Memorial Hospital and Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s) will receive a joint Life Saving Award. Menter’s will receive two other Life Saving Awards, and Pennellville Fire Department will receive an Honorable Mention.

Michelle Eastman of NOCA will receive the D.J. Ketcham BLS Provider of the Year Award for her service at Student Association Volunteer Ambulance Corps (SAVAC) at SUNY Oswego in 2008. David Potter of Menter’s and Southern Oswego Volunteer Ambulance Corps (SOVAC) will receive the ALS Provider of the Year Award.

Kathy LaVigne of North Shore Ambulance Service will be honored with the EMS Leadership Award for her service to EMS in Oswego County for more than 30 years. Mary Olsen, RN, of Oswego Hospital will receive the Michael McDonald Educator of the Year Award. Robert Loomis, a telecommunicator at the Oswego County E-911 Communications Center, will receive the Communicator of the Year Award.

Emergency Department personnel will also be honored for their assistance to EMS. Dr. Wayne Farnsworth, MD, at Oswego Hospital will receive the Physician of Excellence - Oswego Hospital Award, while Casey Wehunt, RN, will receive the RN of Excellence - Oswego Hospital Award. Dr. C. Nwonkonko, MD, and Tammie Browne, RN, will receive the awards for A.L. Lee Memorial Hospital for their work in 2008.

Sponsors for the event are Oswego County Ambulance Service, Uniforms Etc., Oswego Health, ECI Emergency Consultants, Entergy Nuclear, and Constellation Energy.

The event begins at 5:30 p.m. on May 15. A limited number of reservations are available by calling Oswego County Emergency Management Office/Emergency Medical Services at 591-9150 by Monday, May 11.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?