Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

Jan. 14, 2010

Legislature Chairman Leemann Announces Standing Committee Assignments

OSWEGO - Oswego County Legislature Chairman Barry Leemann (District 4, Amboy) today announced appointments to the County Legislature's standing committees. The seven committees oversee departments of county government and make budgetary and policy recommendations to the full Legislature.

The 2010 standing committees are:

Community and Consumer Affairs: Robert Hayes Sr. (District 10, Phoenix), chairman; Mary Flett (District 17, Oswego) vice chairwoman; Mark Fruce (District 24, Fulton); James Karasek (District 22, Granby); Louella LeClair (District 25, Fulton); John Martino (District 6, Central Square); and Terry Wilbur (District 21, Hannibal). The committee oversees the Board of Elections, Central Services Department, County Clerk's Office, Real Property Tax Service, and Weights and Measures Office, and meets at 2 p.m. on the fourth Wednesday of the month.

Economic Development and Planning: Morris Sorbello (District 23, Granby) chairman; Louella LeClair, vice chairwoman; Shawn Doyle (District 3, Pulaski); Douglas Malone (District 20, Oswego Town); Jacob Mulcahey (District 15, Oswego); Arthur Ospelt (District 12, Pennellville); and Ronald Sakonyi (District 5, Constantia). The committee oversees the Department of Community Development, Tourism and Planning, and meets at 2 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month.

Finance and Personnel: Arthur Ospelt, chairman; Daniel Chalifoux (District 19, Minetto), vice chairman; Fred Beardsley (District 9, Central Square); Shawn Doyle; Kevin Gardner (District 13, New Haven); Michael Kunzwiler (District 18, Oswego); and John Proud (District 7, Mexico). The committee oversees the County Audit Office, County Administrator's Office, County Treasurer's Office, Personnel and Purchasing departments, and meets at 2 p.m. on the first Tuesday after the fourth Tuesday of the month.

Health and Human Services: John Proud, chairman; Barbara Brown (District 8, Palermo) vice chairwoman; Margaret Kastler (District 1, Sandy Creek); James Karasek; Jacob Mulcahey; Ronald Sakonyi; and Terry Wilbur. The committee oversees the county departments of Social Services, Health, Office for the Aging, Veterans' Services and Youth Bureau. Meetings are held at 10 a.m. on the fourth Wednesday of the month.

Infrastructure and Facilities: Fred Beardsley, chairman; James Oldenburg (District 14, Scriba), vice chairman; Barbara Brown; Daniel Chalifoux; Linda Lockwood (District 11, Volney); Milferd Potter (District 2, Orwell); and Amy Tresidder (District 16, Oswego). The Infrastructure and Facilities Committee is responsible for policies and legislation regarding the County Airport, the Buildings and Grounds Department, Highway, Solid Waste, and Energy Recovery Facility. The committee meets at 10 a.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month.

Public Safety and Emergency Services: Linda Lockwood, chairwoman; Kevin Gardner, vice chairman; Mary Flett; Margaret Kastler; John Martino; Morris Sorbello; and Amy Tresidder. The committee oversees the E-911 Program, Emergency Management Office, Fire Coordinator's Office, Probation Department and Sheriff's Office. Meetings are held at 2 p.m. on the fourth Monday of the month.

Strategic Planning and Government: Milferd Potter, chairman, Michael Kunzwiler, vice chairman; Mark Fruce; Robert Hayes; Douglas Malone; James Oldenburg; and John Proud. The committee oversees the Clerk of the Legislature's Office, County Attorney's Office, County Legislature and Office of the Chairman, and the District Attorney's Office. Meetings are held at 10 a.m. on the fourth Monday of the month.

Committee meetings, which are open to the public, are held in the County Office Building at 46 E. Bridge St., Oswego. Meeting agendas are posted on the county government Web site at oswegocounty.com/legislature/meetings/agenda.html

For more information, contact the Office of the Chairman of the County Legislature at 315-349-8230 or 1-800-596-3200, ext. 8230.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?