Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

March 8, 2010

Oswego County Honors Photo Contest Winners

First place winners in the Oswego County Visitors Guide Photo Contest were, from left, Richard Drosse, James Farley, Fred Crisafulli, Marie Chatterton and Brenda Dann.

Prizes for honorable mention were given to 21 photographers in the Oswego County Visitors Guide Photo Contest. Those who attended the awards reception were, from left, James Farley, Marie Chatterton, Carrie Nunez, Mary Schefcick, John Chatterton, Mara Meyers, Sabrina Nicolucci, and Jeff Paquette.

Oswego - The Oswego County Promotion and Tourism Office recently held a reception to honor the winners of the Oswego County Visitors Guide Photo Contest. All of the winning photographs were displayed.

Certificates were presented by legislators Morris Sorbello and Louella LeClair, chairman and vice chairwoman of the Oswego County Legislature's Economic Development and Planning Committee. David Turner, director of the County Community Development, Tourism and Planning Department, distributed prizes to the winners.

The 25 honorees received certificates and prizes for their winning entries. The awards included Oswego County mugs, field bags and hats with the new Oswego County tourism logo, and gifts and certificates from area merchants and organizations.

"There were more than 100 entries submitted for the contest, and they captured the beautiful landscape, diverse recreational activities, and amazing weather that we experience in Oswego County," said Turner. "The winners are all obviously very talented and we appreciate the effort that they put into helping us share Oswego County with the world through our ads and brochures."

Several photographers won in more than one category.

First place winners were Fred Crisafulli (Accommodations); Beth Salisbury (Animals and Agriculture); Marie Chatterton (Arts, Music and Theatre); Brenda Dann (Festivals and Events, Scenic Winter); James Farley (Fishing); Richard Drosse (History, More Fun in the Outdoors); Linda Fellers (Hunting); Ruth Graham (Scenic); and Tracy Bonanno (Sunsets).

Those who received an honorable mention were Mara Meyers, Marie Chatterton, Carolyn Yerdon (three), Erica Medura, Kara Vrooman (two), Walter Schenck (two), Carrie Nunez, Melissa Edwards, Captain Ed Monette, James Farley (two), Captain Richard Miick (two), Nancy Schefcick (two), Tracy Bonanno, Susan Miller, Sabrina Nicolucci, Ruth Graham, Susan Altimonda, Jeff Paquette, David Hertzler, John Chatterton and Linda Fellers.

Prizes were donated by Fort Ontario State Historic Site, Abbott's Lake Country Studio and Winona State Forest Recreation Association. Refreshments for the reception were donated by members of the tourism staff.

To view the winning entries as well as all of the photo submissions, go to the Oswego County Tourism's Facebook page at www.facebook.com/visitoswegocounty.

For visitor information, go to www.visitoswegocounty.com or call 1-800-248-4FUN (4386).

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?