Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

April 9, 2010

Emergency Medical Services Providers to be Honored at Banquet

Oswego - The Oswego County Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council will honor emergency medical services providers for outstanding patient care during the third annual Awards Banquet Friday, May 14, at the American Foundry in Oswego.

The awards are based on the actions of EMS providers in the calendar year 2009. A total of 11 awards will be presented, four of them to emergency medical services (EMS) agencies whose providers saved a patient's life on a call.

"Each of these is based on a call for someone found in respiratory and/or cardiac arrest," said Zach Menter of Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter's), a member of the EMSAC Banquet Committee. "Because of the actions of the providers on the scene, the patient was later discharged from the hospital alive."

The remaining awards are based on the professionalism and quality of care of providers in their field.

"These recipients were chosen for the difference they made to the EMS community throughout the year," explained Margaret Beers of Oswego Hospital's Emergency Department, also a member of the banquet committee. "Their actions have shown commitment and dedication to the field."

"The EMS providers in the county are extremely dedicated to their field and provide excellent care to their patients," added Damen Morrell of Oswego City Fire Department. "It's difficult to choose among the nominations. These are individuals who clearly stood out."

The recipients of the 2009 EMSAC Awards include the following:

  • Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year: George T. Feeney, Oswego City Fire Department
  • DJ Ketcham Basic Life Support Provider of the Year: Crystal Weigand, Oswego Town Fire Department
  • EMS Leadership Award: Norm Wallis, Director of Operations, Southern Oswego County Volunteer Ambulance Corps (SOVAC)
  • Physician of Excellence: Dr. Mohammed Ahmed, Oswego Hospital
  • RN of Excellence: Julie Woodruff, Oswego Hospital
  • Excellence in STEMI Care: Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter's), for the actions of Ryan Maichak and Donald Rockwood
  • EMS Communications Award: Kelly Allen, Oswego County E-911 Communications Center

Life Saving Awards will be presented to Oswego Speedway for a call on which Oswego City Fire Department assisted, and Donald McFee Ambulance Service. Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter's) will receive two Life Saving Awards for separate incidents during 2009.

"We would like to thank our sponsors for supporting the EMS community in Oswego County," said Patricia Egan, director of Oswego County Emergency Management Office/Emergency Medical Services and a member of the EMSAC banquet committee. "Without them, our thank-you to these highly professional individuals would not be possible."

Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter's) and Uniforms Etc. are Gold Sponsors for the event. Silver Sponsors include Oswego Health, ECI Physicians Group, Entergy Nuclear-Northeast, and Constellation Energy.

Award sponsorships at $100 each are still available, and anyone interested may contact one of the banquet committee members or contact Pat Egan by .

The May 14 banquet will be held at the American Foundry in Oswego from 5:30-10 p.m. and will feature Ann Gilpin, President and CEO of Oswego Health, as speaker. Tickets to the event are $10 and may be obtained by calling Oswego County Emergency Management Office/Emergency Medical Services at 315-591-9150. Reservation deadline is May 1.

The 2010 banquet committee includes Zach Menter, Oswego County Ambulance Service; Margaret Beers, Oswego Hospital Emergency Department; Damen Morrell, Oswego City Fire Department; Patricia Egan, Oswego County Emergency Management Office/EMS; James Jones, Oswego County EMS Field Coordinator; and Terry Bennett, Oswego County Emergency Management Office.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?