Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

February 28, 2011

Oswego County Fire Coordinator Reports Record Numbers

Volunteer firefighters from across the county practice extinguishing a transformer fire as part of the Firefighter I course offered at the Oswego County Emergency Response Training Center in Oswego. Photo courtesy of Kim Rossiter of the Oswego County Fire Coordinator's Office.

The Oswego County Fire Coordinator's Office recently reported an increase in activities at the Oswego County Emergency Response Training Center (ERTC). Over 1,500 trainees passed through the ERTC for 182 days of training in 2010.

"Our schedule doubled in the second quarter with added contracts from Constellation Nuclear and the Sunoco Ethanol Plant," said Oswego County Fire Coordinator Donald Forbes. "We completed the year with record numbers in training at the ERTC."

Other major contracts include Entergy, Novelis, and Oswego County BOCES. Out-of-county fire departments and businesses have also added to the increase in site usage, including New York Mills, Walworth and several crews from Dewitt.

Forbes added, "The site is also used for a state training program, which is operating at maximum levels. We now have six state fire instructors serving 360 trainees."

The ERTC is located at 720 East Seneca Street in Oswego and contains 20 specialized props for live fire training in a variety of challenging conditions. They include interior structural, pit, flammable liquid, motor vehicle and transformer fires, as well as a sprinkler lab and electrical grid demonstration.

"The ERTC is a tremendous asset for the county," said Legislator Linda Lockwood, chair woman of the Oswego County Legislature's Public Safety and Emergency Services Committee. "It provides quality local training for our own fire departments and industries and the customized instruction attracts other companies from across New York State."

The Oswego County Legislature's Public Safety and Emergency Services Committee oversees the Emergency Management Office. In addition to Legislator Lockwood, the committee includes Vice Chairwoman Margaret Kastler, District 1; and legislators Shawn Doyle, District 3; Mary Flett, District 17; Kevin Gardner, District 13; John Martino, District 6; and Amy Tresidder, District 16.

For more information, call the Oswego County Fire Coordinator's Office at 315-349-8800 or 1-877-675-1588.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?