Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

March 13, 2013

Oswego County Awards Annual Tourism Ambassador Honors

2012 TOURISM AMBASSADORS ANNOUNCED - The Oswego County Legislature's Economic Development, Tourism and Planning Committee recently presented legislators Shawn Doyle, District 3, Pulaski, and Shane Broadwell, District 17, Oswego with the 2012 Tourism Ambassador Award. Pictured from left are: Daniel LeClair, District 8; Terry Wilbur, District 21; Janet Clerkin, tourism and public information coordinator for the Oswego County Department of Community Development, Tourism and Planning; Edwin Lighthall, chairman of the Oswego County Tourism Advisory Council; Shane Broadwell, District 17; Shawn Doyle, District 3; Committee Chairwoman Louella LeClair, District 25; Amy Tresidder, District 16; and Morris Sorbello, District 23.

OSWEGO - The Oswego County Tourism Advisory Council awarded its 2012 Tourism Ambassador Hall of Fame Awards to two members of the Oswego County Legislature who have given unselfishly of their time and energy to support tourism in the county for many years.

The Oswego County Legislature's Economic Development, Tourism and Planning Committee presented the honors to Legislator Shawn Doyle, District 3, Pulaski, and Legislator Shane Broadwell, District 17, Oswego during the February meeting of the full Legislature.

Edwin Lighthall, chairman of the Tourism Advisory Council, and Janet Clerkin, coordinator of tourism and public information for the Oswego County Community Development, Tourism and Planning Department were at hand for the presentation.

Lighthall said that Legislator Doyle "has given selflessly of his time by sharing his love of history with countless individuals and organizations over the years." Legislator Doyle co-ordinates the Heritage Building at the Oswego County Fair each year and was instrumental in helping to organize the first War of 1812 Symposium in Oswego. He is considered an expert on the history of Oswego County's Half-Shire towns and leads the Half-Shire Historical Society, which provides important research and genealogical information to local residents and visitors alike. He assists local heritage tourism efforts by organizing and sharing research materials, including a catalog of hundreds of Oswego County War of 1812 soldiers.

Legislator Doyle is also involved in organizing a number of community events, such as Pulaski's annual Salmon River Festival and River Fishing Derby, the Oswego County Winter Carnival in Sandy Pond, and various water chestnut harvests at Port Ontario.

Legislator Broadwell is also a long-time supporter of Oswego County's tourism industry. Lighthall remarked, "Legislator Broadwell is passionate about local tourism. He and his family have a history of organizing high-quality events such as the Tri-Oswego Tri-a-thalon and the Festival of Sail tall ship event."

Legislator Broadwell has also supported and served on the board of directors for Oswego's Harborfest for many years. He has provided invaluable assistance and support to the Oswego County Pro-Am Salmon and Trout Fishing Tournament, Taste of Oswego, countless hockey tournaments, and many other events. Most recently, he was instrumental in bringing the New York State Canal Conference to Oswego.

Legislator Broadwell and his family formed the Broadwell Hospitality Group. Through this venture, he assists local and regional tourism efforts by welcoming visiting media and group tours and hosting the Oswego War of 1812 Walk for the Seaway Trail's Volkssporting Association. In addition, they have recently opened the Lake Ontario Conference and Event Center in Oswego, a venue which will attract new visitors and organizations and promote the "Port City" as a destination for conferences and events.

The Tourism Advisory Council has presented the Tourism Ambassador Awards since 1995. Past recipients include The Bridgehouse Brats of Phoenix, Richard and Naneen Drosse, and Fred Kuepper, 2011; Fran Verdoliva, The Palladium-Times, and Barbara Lighthall, 2010; Margaret Clerkin, Legislator Louella LeClair, District 25, Fulton, and Mercedes Niess, 2009; David Rath and James Wright in 2008; Paul Lear, 2007; Mike Redding, 2006; Doug Ververs, Donald Feck and Hank Cosselman, 2005; Fred Crisafulli, 2002; Capt. Dick Pfund, 2001; Shirley Guenthner, 2000; Jim Walker, 1999; Tim Nekritz, 1998; Barbara Egelston and Charles Krupke, 1997; Sandy Resnick, 1996; and Helen Chetney and Edwin Lighthall, 1995. The council presented an honorary lifetime achievement award to Krupke in 2007.

Members of the Tourism Advisory Council are appointed by the Oswego County Legislature Chairman and represent businesses, museums and historic sites, events and attractions throughout Oswego County.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?