Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

April 20, 2015

County Personnel Department Name Is Changed to Human Resources

OSWEGO - The staff and functions remain the same, but the name of the County Personnel Department was officially changed to the Human Resources Department at the April 9 meeting of the Oswego County Legislature.

The name change reflects the broader responsibilities and objectives that the department has assumed over the past several decades, said County Legislator Terry Wilbur, District 21, Hannibal, chairman of the Legislature's Finance and Personnel Committee.

"The Personnel Department has handled the centralized responsibilities of local civil service administration for municipalities and county government employee programs for many years, but the responsibilities have grown in scope and complexity over the years," said Legislator Wilbur. "The department plays an integral role in providing advice and support services to complement line management responsibilities, including labor relations, employee benefits, performance management and training, and employment and civil service programs. The resolution to change the department's name to Human Resources provides a more descriptive name for the department."

County Director of Personnel Carol N. Alnutt said many county governments, organizations, and academic institutions across the U.S. have adopted the "human resources" term to better reflect the department's responsibilities and functions. "The new name more accurately reflects the overall workload of the department," said Alnutt.

The Legislature's Finance and Personnel Committee oversees human resources, the County Administrator's Office, County Treasurer, audit and purchasing departments of county government. In addition to Legislator Wilbur, the committee includes vice chairman James Weatherup, District 9, Central Square; Shane Broadwell, District 17, Oswego; Robert Hayes, District 10, Phoenix; David Holst, District 4, Amboy; Michael Kunzwiler, District 18, Oswego; John Martino, District 6, Hastings; and Amy Tresidder, District 16, Oswego.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?