Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

July 3, 2017

Oswego County Legislators Act to Preserve Jobs at Nuclear Plants

OSWEGO - The Oswego County Legislature continues to advocate for the region's nuclear power industry and at its June meeting urged defeat of measures in the state Assembly and Senate that would repeal the Clean Energy Standard.

The state Legislature has adjourned for the season without acting on the bills. However, members of the Oswego County Legislature are concerned the issue could re-surface when the state Legislature re-convenes.

The state Clean Energy Standard (CES) was intended to transition the state's economy from depending on fossil fuels to a clean energy by 2030. The CES created credits for nuclear energy with the cost allocation distributed to all users of electricity.

After the Clean Energy Standard was adopted, bills were introduced into both houses of the state Legislature to eliminate or dramatically change key elements of the policy. The changes could be detrimental to the Nine Mile Point and FitzPatrick nuclear plants in Scriba, as well as the Ginna nuclear station in Wayne County.

"The economic and environmental benefits of preserving our upstate nuclear plants exceeds the cost of the CES program dramatically," said Legislator Roy Reehil, District 5, Constantia, chairman of the Oswego County Legislature's Economic Development and Planning Committee. "These plants support more than 25,000 full-time direct and secondary jobs in our region and the legislation being considered by the Senate and Assembly threaten to negate months of negotiations, rallies, letter writing campaigns and advocacy for the Clean Energy Standard. This will be extremely unpopular Upstate because of the tremendous public support that was demonstrated during the Public Service Commission's hearing process across the state. I urge county residents to immediately contact their state representatives and raise their voices to protect our nuclear plants."

In addition to Legislator Reehil, members of the Economic Development and Planning Committee include legislators Morris Sorbello, District 23, Granby, committee vice chairman; and Shawn Doyle, District 2, Richland; Thomas Drumm, District 16, Oswego; Daniel LeClair, District 8, Pennellville; Jacob Mulcahey, District 15, Oswego; and Tim Stahl, District 20, Town of Oswego.

For more information on the bills and to contact state legislators to protect nuclear energy, visit http://upstateenergyjobs.com.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?