Oswego County Public Information Office, 46 East Bridge St., Oswego, NY 13126

[Public Information Main Menu] [Oswego County Homepage]

January 4, 2019

Legislator James Weatherup Elected Chairman of Oswego County Legislature

OSWEGO COUNTY - The Oswego County Legislature elected District 9 Legislator James Weatherup as Chairman of the Legislature at its organizational meeting Jan. 3. Legislature Chairman Weatherup has represented residents of District 9, which encompasses the village of Central Square and portions of the towns of Hastings and Palermo, since 2014.

He served as chairman of the Legislature's Finance and Personnel Committee and as legislative majority leader in 2018, and held leadership positions on several legislative committees. Before being elected to the Legislature, he served as town supervisor and a member of the town board in the Town of Hastings.

Legislators re-elected Linda Lockwood, District 11, Volney, as Vice Chairwoman. She has served on the legislature since 2004 and as Vice Chairwoman of the Legislature since 2014.

Christopher Jones was re-elected Clerk of the Legislature. He has held the post since 2017.

Legislator Paul House was sworn in to represent District 8, which includes parts of the towns of Palermo and Hastings. Legislator House was elected in November after being appointed to fill a vacancy last year.

Hon. Greg R. Gilbert, Supreme Court Justice, administered the oaths of office.

Legislator Terry Wilbur, District 21, was named majority leader and Legislator Tim Stahl, District 20, was named majority whip by the Republican caucus. The Democratic caucus selected Legislator Frank Castiglia, District 25, as minority leader, and Legislator Dan Farfaglia, District 24, as minority whip.

The Palladium-Times of Oswego and the Oswego County Weeklies of Mexico were named official newspapers. Several banks with offices in Oswego County were named official depositories of county funds. They include Key Bank NA, JP Morgan Chase, Community Bank NA, Pathfinder, NBT Bank, and Bank of America.

The Legislature's next regular meeting is scheduled for 2 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 14, in the Legislative Chambers of the County Office Building at 46 E. Bridge St., Oswego.

WEATHERUP ELECTED CHAIRMAN OF OSWEGO COUNTY LEGISLATURE - Legislator James Weatherup was elected Chairman of the Oswego County Legislature Jan. 3. Looking on as he recites the oath of office are his wife, Kathleen, and father, Thomas. Supreme Court Justice Greg Gilbert presided. Legislator Weatherup represents parts of the towns of Hastings and Palermo and previously served as legislative majority leader.

LINDA LOCKWOOD RE-ELECTED VICE CHAIR - County Legislator Linda Lockwood, District 11, Volney was re-elected to her fifth term as Vice Chairwoman of the Oswego County Legislature Jan. 3. Supreme Court Justice Greg Gilbert led the swearing-in ceremony.

JONES RE-ELECTED CLERK OF THE LEGISLATURE - County legislators unanimously re-elected Christopher Jones as Clerk of the Oswego County Legislature at the Jan. 3 organizational meeting.

PAUL HOUSE IS SWORN IN AS DISTRICT 8 LEGISLATOR - County Legislator Paul House takes his oath of office at the organizational meeting of the Oswego County Legislature as his wife, Sharon, holds the Bible. House was elected in November to represent District 8 after being appointed to fill a vacant seat on the Legislature last year.

Questions about the Oswego County Public Information Office?