most requested services

Latest News Departments Tax Info Apply For... Covid-19 Info

stay connected


Contact Us

800-596-3200 Citizen Request

Historical Information

Established in 1816 through an act of the New York State Legislature, Oswego County occupies 968 square miles of land on the southeastern shore of Lake Ontario. Rich in natural beauty, the county offers excellent business, educational, and recreational opportunities. Oswego County government delivers many services that help provide a high quality of life.

Oswego County is comprised of the cities of Oswego and Fulton, 10 villages, and 22 towns. The County Legislature includes 25 districts; each legislator represents approximately 5,000 citizens. The county is located in the 22nd and 24th Congressional Districts; and in the 120th and 130th Districts of the New York State Assembly.

You’ll find us easily accessible by land, air and water. Interstate 81 and I-481 travel through the county, and we’re just north of I-90, the NYS Thruway. The County Airport sees more than 25,000 take-offs and landings a year. The 23-mile Oswego River Canal is part of the NYS Canal System and the historic Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor.

Visit the Oswego County Tourism Historical page for more information.